5 Things, 5 Questions #1: Carl (@sloppydasein)

I’ve been working on a new segment on my blog where I talk to people and ask them 5 questions on a multitude of things (books, food, advice, exciting things, and about themselves), but their answers for each question have to be a list of five things related to the topic. As a kick-off to this series, I asked my friend Carl to share his top five picks for books, food, and more.

Carl is a friend that I met during my college years (which is not too long ago, by the way). Although I’ve heard of him ever since my freshman year, it was only during a summer semester in my sophomore year wherein we were properly introduced. Since then, I’ve considered Carl as a friend. What I admire most about him are his passion and creativity. I’m not gonna ramble on as much, so here are some of the things that I learned about him:

1) in 5 words, describe yourself.

1. Adventurous
2. Curious
3. Rational
4. Observant
5. Human

2) what are 5 things that always excite you?

1. Performing on stage.
2. That moment before watching a movie I’ve been wanting to watch for a long time.
3. Holding a new book.
4. Mingling in social events.
5. Having conversations that go into deep territory.

3) what are 5 meals that you would eat over and over again?

1. Spaghetti
2. Maki rolls
3. Longganisa and egg with garlic rice
4. Sweet and spicy pancit canton with pandesal and tuna spread
5. Pancakes

4) name 5 books that you would recommend?

1. “Kafka on the Shore” by Haruki Murakami
2. “Para Kay B” by Ricky Lee
3. “The Prophet” by Kahlil Gibran
4. “Sophie’s World” by Jostein Gaarder
5. “Lumayo Ka Nga Sa Akin” by Bob Ong

5) as parting words, give 5 pieces of advice that you would give to your younger self, or to people younger than you.

1. It’s okay to be wrong sometimes.
2. When things don’t work out, it’s not always your fault.
3. People can be mean, but you don’t have to be.
4. There is a time to listen and a time to speak out. But it’s never the same time.
5. The world is too chaotic for you to be sure of anything; be open to possibilities, thank the universe for whatever it gives you, and use this to your improvement.

Thanks for this, Carl! Carl is indeed one of the wisest and most genuine people that I know, and I am so lucky to be one of his friends! I hope you learned more about this awesome guy, and don’t hesitate to follow and read his blog on http://sloppydasein.wordpress.com/ .

**Note: some questions were edited.

One thought on “5 Things, 5 Questions #1: Carl (@sloppydasein)

Leave a Reply

