Quickie: New Acquisitions

Okay, so payday happened and the first thing I did after I got my pay was to buy makeup. I swear, this is a monthly thing that needs to be controlled. But anyway, here are the new makeup products that I bought:

NYX HD Concealer in Glow – I’ve been meaning to try out this concealer for quite some time now, and when I finally had the opportunity to purchase it, I jumped at the chance. This concealer is deemed as a dupe for the Nars Radiant Creamy Concealer. Overall, I think this concealer is a fairly decent one. It has good coverage, it’s buildable, and it lasts pretty well (provided that you set it with a powder — I use my Maybelline powder foundation to set it). The price point is pretty good too. However, there are some things that I don’t like about this concealer: One, this concealer smells funny. This concealer has that smell that is similar to a combination of milk and paint. It’s a good thing that the smell becomes unnoticeable when you apply it. Second, the shade range of this concealer is meh. Although it offers eleven shades in their range (including colour-correcting ones), it’s a bit difficult to gauge your actual shade with this concealer! To be honest, I had a hard time finding my shade until I settled for Glow. Glow is a bit too light for me, but it’s something that I could work with. I just hope that Nyx introduces more shades for people who are in between two colours. But shade and smell aside, I think this is a good concealer for its price point.

Nars Pure Matte Lipstick in Tonkin – Allow me to flail and die for a bit because I finally!! purchased!!! one!!! of!!! the!!! lipsticks!!! I’ve!!! been!!! lusting!!!!!! for!!!!! Ever since seeing Carina‘s numerous posts about this lipstick, I ended up adding it to my “Lipstick Lust List.” It’s such a beautiful, everyday nude-browny pink shade that can be worn on multiple occasions. I honestly think that this is my holy grail MLBB lipstick. Although I am intimidated by matte lipsticks, this one is a matte lipstick that I immediately fell in love with (I prefer creamy-satiny-near glossy finishes, by the way). Formula-wise, this is a matte lipstick that is surprisingly comfortable to wear. It glides on easily, and it doesn’t feel that drying. However, I do admit that I still need to prep my lips with a lip balm before applying this because I have dry, parched lips. But despite this setback, I still think that it’s a beautiful lipstick. Blabber aside, I just think that I need to get used to matte lipsticks. Hehe. (Edit: Tonkin is officially my new favourite lipstick of all time). 

Etude House Drawing Eyebrow Pencil in 01 – I’m trying my very best to love this eyebrow pencil (Nothing else comes close to Nichido’s Mineral Eye Pencil in Walnut). It’s a good eyebrow pencil, but I cannot seem to wrap my brain around the fact that this always gets broken. Hmmmmmm should I place my eye pencils in the freezer so that they wouldn’t get destroyed? Maybe.

And that’s it for my rundown of my newest purchases! So far, I’m happy with these buys. It’s been a few days since I bought them, and I can easily see that these products (especially the Nars lipstick) will be my makeup staples. Anyway, kindly suggest some products to try out so I can review them! Heehee.

Leave a Reply

