On Cleaning

My dad asked me to do a room clean-up today. The room clean-up was something that he asked me to do at least every quarter, so I can get rid of old things, and make my room more livable.

To be honest with you, I have a love-hate relationship with cleaning my room. I liked thriving in some form of chaos, and I was adamant that I could find things better when my room is in disarray. The thought of cleaning my room was something that I detested, and maybe, I found it as a way to rebel from my fourth-grade teacher’s teachings on 5S and cleanliness.

I proceeded on cleaning my room anyway (and I am still in the process of finishing up my cleaning). It’s quite ironic that even though I hate cleaning, I like the idea of purging and getting rid of things. For the longest time, I’ve been meaning to purge and get rid of the things that I find unnecessary to me. But anyway, over the course of the day, I’ve gotten to fix up several areas of my room, and I also got rid of many things. Yay!

Anyway, if there’s a key takeaway from today’s task, it’s that cleaning up is necessary  (and helpful). I shall do this more often, so I can get my mind and my life in order, because that’s what I need. But for now, I shall fix the remaining mess in my bedroom. I have too much stuff in my bed, and I need to look for a safe place where I can place my things. However, I’m happy that I found places for my books, magazines, notebooks, and toiletries. Here’s to progress.

Leave a Reply

