It Doesn’t Have To Always Suck: Some Notes and Lessons on Adulthood

(Note: I am still a noob at adulting, but allow me to share some of the lessons I learned along the way. In addition, forgive me if I may sound passive-aggressive in this entry sometimes)

As a 21-year old who has only entered the world of adulthood after graduating from college, transitioning to the adult life has been a bit difficult. Well, to be honest here, I always have a difficult time transitioning and adjusting to changes that come my way. For example, it took me four semesters in college to find my groove and finally step up. I guess you could call me a late bloomer, but it hasn’t been easy for me to let go of things, that’s why it’s hard for me to accept the changes that life has brought along the way.

The past year has been full of changes, and every time a change has occurred, I have been constantly reminded of how I need to be less stubborn and more open-minded to the changes happening in my life.

Anyway, I probably have digressed too much. What was supposed to be an entry talking about my struggles (and triumphs) with adulthood has got me ruminating about my resistance towards change. But the way I see it, entering adulthood has been one of the biggest changes in my life, and as I go through the motions of it, I have to be more accepting and open towards the changes that are coming my way.

Allow me to share some of the lessons that I’ve learned as I go through the motions of adulthood, so here are the things that I’ve learned when I started adulting:

  1. Government documents may be a pain to accomplish, but the feeling of finally getting them is priceless.
  2. It’s perfectly okay to cry, but if you have to cry, do it somewhere where people cannot see you.
  3. Continuously expose yourself to different ways to get to your office, so that you can have alternatives whenever the situation calls for it.
  4. If you really like something, you should go for it (especially in the field of makeup [well, makeup deals in particular]).
  5. Breaks are important— especially during intense times.
    • A personal story: After I finished my short course, I went to Japan for our family vacation. The trip was a necessary break from the anxiety that I was feeling during my job search, and it made me realize that I need to stop and enjoy whatever I am experiencing at the moment once in a while.
  6. Raising a cat is no joke. It takes patience, several rounds of hide-and-seek, and a ton of cat scratches to get your cat to love you.
  7. Being a stubborn, stuck-up perfectionist is the worst person to be in the workplace (Trust me, I learned [and still learning] that the hard way).
  8. THERE’S ALWAYS A GOOD OPPORTUNITY IN EVERY ADVERSITY!!!! Remember that!!! 😀
  9. Holding on to anything negative (negative thoughts or negative feelings, or both) for too long will eat you up and get in the way of your bright future, so do away with those negative thoughts and feelings!
  10. If you are having a very difficult time believing in yourself, remind yourself every single day that you are fine and good, and that you are capable of doing great things.
  11. Make use of technology — and incorporate it in your life as much as you can.
  12. Do one thing that scares you every day, and be open to it —- whether it’s figuring out Excel formulas, embracing operational tasks, or talking to your crush, just do it.
  13. Everything will get better, so tiwala lang.
  14. Time management is a hard skill to master, but find ways to make it easier.
    • Set a timer when doing tasks.
    • Create a schedule for every task you are doing.
    • Prioritize your tasks.
  15. Be open-minded to constructive criticism.
  16. Lost your chill? Do the things that you love, and you will slowly gain it back.
    • I’ve said this in a previous blog entry, and I’ve said it numerous times on Twitter that I have lost my chill because of work, and my numerous attempts to compensate for my shortcomings. Fortunately, I think I have been starting to regain it because I’ve been channeling my negative thoughts into something positive.
  17. The first steps to adulthood may be shaky, but you will get better at it over time.
  18. Never ever give up. It will get better.

 

Leave a Reply

