Life Pegs: Leandra Medine

It is no secret that Leandra Medine is one of the many people that I look up to. Aside from my father and my closest friends, I consider Leandra Medine to be the model for the type of creative life that I would like to emulate. In case you do not know her, she is an author, podcast host, fashion icon, and the founder and proprietor of that little fashion blog called Man Repeller.

Anyway, the top reason why she is one of my life pegs is because of her writing style. Her writing is humorous, self-aware, honest, and engaging. In a blog entry called “Why I Don’t Wear Makeup,” Leandra candidly shared the reason why she refuses to wear makeup. The piece was a love letter in being comfortable in one’s skin, especially in this day and age where women experience some form of pressure to look their best— especially in a field where looks matter. After reading this piece, it made the makeup fan/hoarder in me realize that it is perfectly okay to go bare-faced or wear a full face of makeup— just as long as I am okay on the inside. In addition, the piece also made me come to terms with my messy, wavy hair, large nose, and dark under-eye circles. This piece showed her honesty and candor, and that is something that I found admirable from her, and other writers as well.

Self-love and humor aside, another reason why I love Leandra Medine is because she is such an entertaining interviewer and compelling podcast host! If you watch her interviews with fashion icons and all-around cool people such as Iris Apfel, the Haim sisters, Jenna Lyons, and Ines de la Fressange, I think she was the only interviewer that I knew that made Danielle Haim talk for a solid minute. In addition, her Monocycle podcast is honest and engaging. Although this podcast of hers is fairly new, the topics that she discussed in this podcast are quite hard-hitting and personal, in a sense that listeners could strike a chord with the things that she talked about, such as dealing with confidence, embracing vulnerability, and putting a halt to self-sabotage. One day, I hope to be as articulate and as engaging as her whenever I talk to an audience.

Last but not the least, another reason why I look up to Leandra Medine is because of her determination and passion towards Man Repeller as a resource for fashion, lifestyle, and creativity. When Leandra Medine initially started Man Repeller, she used it as an avenue to express her personal style, and that she believed that being a “man repeller” meant expressing your own style freely, without immediately confining yourself to certain trends or societal norms. Over the years, Man Repeller has gained the attention of numerous style publications (both print and online), and a strong social media following on Twitter and Instagram. Because of its subsequent growth and influence, Man Repeller has transformed into a full-fledged fashion and lifestyle site. Leandra Medine’s vision to create an authentic, inclusive platform for women who share a passion similar with Man Repeller is something worth looking up to, and I hope to create a platform that allows young people to share their interests, feelings, thoughts, aspirations, and passions— without any judgments.

Geez, I have a lot to say about Leandra Medine. But to put it simply, she is an awesome woman that young women like me can look up to, especially in the field of creative self-expression. I hope her blog will continue to inspire and compel young women (and girls) to be comfortable in their own skin, live creatively, and have fun with life.

 

 

Sources:

Image from Google

You can learn more about Leandra Medine on manrepeller.com, and you can subscribe to her Monocycle podcast on iTunes or Soundcloud. 

Leave a Reply

