Best Meal Ever?

One of the writing prompts that I found on Man Repeller’s Writers’ Club was to write a 500-word piece about the best meal that I ever had. As a self-proclaimed hungry girl, it’s very difficult to decide on the meal that I would gladly call as the “best meal ever,” since I’ve encountered a lot of great dishes over the years. More so, I needed to come up with a criteria of sorts to justify the reason why I chose a certain dish to be the best meal that I ever had. Questions such as, “Is the dish something worth going back to?”,”Does the dish give me a huge smile on my face?”, and “Is the dish worth paying for?” are just some of the questions that have guided me in choosing some of my favourite dishes. Given these guide questions, I came up with a shortlist of my favourites: the sisig from Recovery Food, the Bacon Breakfast platter from Army Navy, the Salisbury steak from Pancake House, and my dad’s homemade bacon and mushroom carbonara.

After much deliberation, I finally settled on choosing Army Navy’s Bacon Breakfast Platter as the best meal that I’ve ever had. I know it’s unhealthy, but it’s just so damn good. It has been my comfort food at work, and I love how it has become my mood-booster on seemingly depressing work days. Anyway, the dish consists of fairly simple ingredients: fried rice, fried egg, longganisa, and bacon. The ingredients mentioned are already breakfast staples in households, but when you combine these all in one dish, you will be immediately transported into your home during breakfast. For this dish, I would consider the stars of the dish would be the bacon and the longganisa because of the salty-smoky flavour that these viands provide. In my case, this dish reminds me of breakfast chats with my dad at home during the weekends. It’s just so comforting, especially on days where you feel like crap.

However, given the calorie content and the health hazards brought upon by this dish, it is obviously not advisable for daily consumption. I do suggest that you eat it on days where you feel very hungry and sad, or when you feel like you deserve it. Anyway, if you do eat it, enjoy it while you can, and maybe get an extra helping of egg (or two).

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

