Still Figuring It Out

Ever since the beginning, I’ve always wanted to become a writer. I wanted to write features, essays, short stories, and comedies. However, when I was still in school, my fear of failure (and criticism) took over, and I stopped writing for a long time. It was only during the last stretch of my senior year in college where I discovered that I truly love writing. I want to continuously get better at it, to the point where I want to pursue it full-time.

However, given my family’s socio-economic status, pursuing a career as a full-time writer is something seen as an unpractical choice. While my father believes in my skill and potential as a writer, he thinks that this skill could be put off to more practical uses. In other words, he wants me to get a job that could render me self-sufficient. It’s a good thing, though, since it’s difficult (and grossly embarrassing) to be constantly dependent on your parents. But still, there are days where I think (and feel) that my creative spirit and temperament is constantly being eaten up alive, and that I needed to look for a job (and an outlet) that would be a better fit for me.

One day, the right job and the right opportunities will come. Better days will come.

 

 

Leave a Reply

