Glossy-Yay or Nay? A Glossier Mini-Haul and First Impressions

I’ve known about Glossier since 2014, but I think I only became a Glossier fangirl this year. The release of the brand’s Phase 2 set was the catalyst for it, when Glossier included makeup staples such as concealer and lipstick (I didn’t care about their skincare at that time). I dug deeper into the brand, by looking at their online campaigns and watching reviews on YouTube. Almost everything about Glossier’s ad campaigns just screamed “authentic, inclusive, and simple” which is a breath of fresh air from the traditional beauty campaigns that I see in print and online. Just check out this roundup of GRWMs below!

Recently, I decided to treat myself with some Glossier products. Although I originally wanted to try out their skincare (Milky Jelly Cleanser and Priming Moisturizer, anyone?), I decided to opt out of it because I didn’t want to disrupt my current skincare routine. I am at this point where my skin looks and feels really good, and having new products in my arsenal can be either a hit or miss.

Instead, I decided to buy the Balm Dotcom and the Generation G. The balm dotcom is described as a “universal skin salve,” which can be used for dry lips, cuticles, and minor cuts, while Generation G is advertised as a “sheer matte lipstick.” I got the balm dotcom in Coconut (thanks Mel of @glossiermnl!), while the shade I got in Generation G was Crush (which I got from MUP Store), which is a bright pink-berry shade that I would normally avoid.

Now, on to my thoughts about the products! The Coconut balm dotcom immediately became a favorite of mine. At first, people may think that the balm dotcom is a glorified version of petroleum jelly or Vaseline. I guess it’s because of the price (it retails around 12 USD, but I got mine for Php 750), but I’ve looked past that because it works really well and it feels really good. I have dry and dehydrated lips, and the balm dotcom was able to moisturize it. Not to mention, the coconut scent is clean and pleasant, which is a far cry from the coconut scents that I am used to. At 0.5fl oz, you only need the smallest amount to moisturize and hydrate the areas that need some extra TLC. And oh, the flavored balm dotcom’s packaging is beautiful.

On the other hand, I am a bit conflicted towards Generation G. The lipstick definitely lived up to its claim of being a sheer matte lipstick. It’s buildable and dries down to a matte stain, and it glides on like a balm when applied. It lasts long too. Color-wise, I really like the just-bitten pink berry stain that Crush leaves on the lips. ¬†However, I do think that the amount of product you’re getting and the product’s packaging does not reflect its steep price. At 0.04 oz/1.13 g, you’re only getting a small amount of product, and its plastic packaging feels a bit fragile. Also, Generation G just comes in four shades, and I think that expanding the color range a bit would be a big help for many skin tones. If you are looking for alternatives to Generation G, just get Revlon’s matte/balm stains or use a lip stain and put a balm over top.

To wrap this up, I think that the products that I got from Glossier are very good. The balm dotcom definitely lived up to its hype. Generation G, on the other hand is also very good, but I just wished that it was developed better, in terms of pricing, product distribution, color selection, and packaging. I would recommend Glossier if you are a fan of low-maintenance makeup. If you are a big skincare fan, I think you should look into Glossier’s skincare range because I’ve heard good stuff about it. In fact, I am considering getting the Back to Reality trio soon, which includes the mint balm dotcom and the Mega Greens Galaxy Pack. Another thing to note though, if you are buying Glossier here in the Philippines is to find a reseller that gives you really good prices.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

