Notes from last night’s rally

Last night, I joined my first REAL rally.  As someone who begrudgingly admits that her activism is limited to the online space, participating in a protest for the very first time was exciting. It’s exciting because it’s an amazing opportunity to meet and learn from fellow activists and millennials about their plans to mobilize and engage young people to speak up about their causes. In this case, we were all fighting against the decision to have Ferdinand Marcos buried at the Libingan Ng Mga Bayani, as well as the fight for good governance and justice.

My first experience at a rally was not as pleasant as I would like to be. I got lost so many times, tripped and got injured, and cried out of hopelessness because I couldn’t find the People Power Monument. Despite the rough journey to get there, I was still grateful to have participated in it. I also met some upperclassmen from college too, who organized and helped out with the rally at PPM. The crowd was small last night, but I believe that even the tiniest voices can have the biggest impact. Rallyists chanting “Busina, busina para sa hustisya” and shouting “Never again to Martial Law” last night was so empowering to hear. It also brought me chills.

I am excited for the rally on Wednesday, and I am hoping that there will be more people who will come out and show up for a cause such as this. Marcos is not a hero and he will never, ever be. To my fellow millennials, don’t let others spoil your chances of speaking up against this horrible decision, and continue to fight for what is right.

Side note: Thank you to Vicky and to David and Pia Lina  for helping me get home last night! You guys are great.

Leave a Reply

